Academy of Country Music awards on CBS

Academy of Country Music awards on CBS

Country music fans rejoice. It’s time to celebrate the best of the best in country music amid the countdown to the 49th annual ACM awards.

Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan will return to host the annual awards show. The show kicks off at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on  April 6, a Sunday, at 8 p.m. and is broadcast live on CBS.

This year’s Academy of Country Music awards will feature an impressive lineup of performers. The headliners are Rascal Flats and Keith Urban. Miranda Lambert, George Strait and the Band Perry are among the other country music artists scheduled to perform.

The nominees for the top awards this year include a who’s who of country music. Hosts Bryan and Shelton are up against Taylor Swift, George Strait and Miranda Lambert for the Entertainer of the Year award.

Shelton, Urban, Jason Aldean, Lee Brice and Luke Bryan are nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year. Swift, Sheryl Crow, Miranda Lambert, Kacey Musgrave and Carrie Underwood are vying for the Female Vocalist of the Year award.

The ACM awards show also celebrates a new crop of country music stars with the nominees for New Artist of the Year. The nominees are Brett Eldredge, Justin Moore and Kip Moore.

The day after the awards show, the artists will tape a star-studded salute to our troops. Merle Haggard, George Strait, Carrie Underwood, Florida Georgia Line, Lady Antebellum and The Band Perry are among the artists scheduled to perform. The show will air May 20 on CBS.

The Academy of Country Music was founded in Los Angeles in 1964 to promote country and western music in the Western states.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.